Recovering from the concert

Well, it always takes a couple of days to recover from a Cowboy Mouth show, but this is ridiculous. Of course, Zydeco is a standing room only kinda place. But I’m no longer as young as I used to be, and the smoking others were doing was killing me. I’m just way too sensitive to cigarette smoke and my sinuses are letting me know about it now. 😦

But the show was great! I danced and sang and yelled and laughed and had fun! DH enjoyed the music, but he’s a teacher, and a good one. Good teachers stand to teach, and he’s no exception. The standing room only was not a good thing for him. He trashed his knees when he was in the service, jumping out of airplanes when he was young. So he lets me do the jumping around for him.

Dumpstaphunk was very good too! They did a cool version of CCR’s Fortunate Son. and a number of their own songs, and a James Brown number that I can’t pull the name out of my head right now. After their set, we stepped outside to breath fresh air for a while. Ian Neville came up the steps where we were and I had the opportunity to thank him and shake his hand! Woot! No fangirly squeeing, but a heartfelt thank you for the great music. I will search out Dumpstaphunk again for live music.

Before the doors opened up and the folks who were waiting were allowed into the upstairs part of the building, the crowd were entertained by someone else. This was more along the lines of watching a car wreck, but everyone outside on the steps was amused. There is an apartment building about a half a block west of the club, across the street. The upper floor apartment has several very tall windows. One of those windows didn’t appear to have any blinds, unfortunately. That apartment was lit up better than the club and a guy inside was woring on something on the far wall. Which wouldn’t have been bad, except that he didn’t appear to have any thing on. With all his lights on and the window blinds wide open. The crowd was amused by his actions. More to the point, everyone wanted to call him and get him to close his blinds.

