Can you smell something burning?

Its my hard drive at work. Yesterday it crashed and burned. Its less than a year old. And there’s no backup for it. I lost about a year’s worth of programming. And its my fault for not moving those scripts to the network drive with the backups.

ARRRGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

There’s problems with the file to send to the state of W2 information. The HR system that we have didn’t format the files like they should have. I had a good start on a fix, and its gone. It wasn’t a good day. It isn’t going to be a good week or next month.

I’m going to investigate some local data recovery options, but I’m not particularly hopeful. So I’m one stressed geekgirl tonight.

I’ve learned one very important lesson, though. I’ll be keeping all my code on the network drive from now on.

4 thoughts on “Can you smell something burning?

  1. No, it doesn’t. I just want to bang my head into the wall or desk. If I can get the main scripts I lost that I’ve spent most of the last year working on, that would be a hair saver.

    I’m about to back up my home laptop so I don’t lose any of my side business stuff! If that happens, I really will cry.

  2. Pingback: SCOTs in Birmingham, Feb 28 « random musings on life, the universe and everything

  3. Pingback: Have a computer drive again « random musings on life, the universe and everything

Comments are closed.