Have a computer drive again

Hooray, I can work at my own computer now! The drive finally arrived from Dell, and it is installed. The OS and most of the programs I need are set up, and working, more or less. The repair tech from Dell took my old drive, so no data recovery. 😦 Its all gone away. I’m not really happy, but I have a job, and am able to be back in my own office again, so I can’t complain too much.

Now onto recreating some of my bookmarks and such. I use Firefox as a browser, and there is a lovely extension that will back up your browsers, bookmarks, extensions and themes. I had it installed before, but the backups all were in the disk that fried. Once I get everything re-created, I’ll back it up and then put the backup file on the network drive. It’s pretty funny/sad to have to run around to folks and have them email me links to sites we use for work. I’m a little leary of using some of the online bookmarking sites for my work bookmarks. If you have some experience with the social bookmarking sites, I’d love to hear it.

2 thoughts on “Have a computer drive again

  1. Woo! You’ll be obssesive about backups now 😉 I use delicious from time to time for bookmarks, sometimes for work but not often. I think they have a feature where you can make your stuff private.

  2. Obssesive about backups? Me? Aw, why would I be? You got it! Actually, I’m saving the work to the network drive itself. That way if my computer dies again, there are backups.

    Thanks for the info on delicious! I’ll see if they have something I can use.

Comments are closed.