Finished John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War and The Ghost Brigades

One of the advantages of road trips and convalescent times is the opportunity to take the time to read long bits of novels uninterrupted. We purchased and I got to read John Scalzi’s first 2 books of the Interstellar Colonial Union, Old Man’s War and The Ghost Brigades. They were fun, quick reads, with good thinky concepts, in addition to rollicking action. His third book in this universe, The Last Colony, is now out in a hardcover edition. It is getting good reviews on Amazon, and from others who enjoyed the first 2 books. I’m going to be going to the library to see about borrowing a copy until the softcover edition is published. Yes, I’m cheap. I prefer to purchase paperbacks to hardbacks. It leaves me more money and room for books at the house!

Sooner or later I’m going to finish George R. Martin’s A Clash of Kings. I finished A Game of Thrones and it was pretty intense. I get into the second book, and have to set it down to make sure I don’t get too wound up in the story to sleep, since I do most of my non-convalescent reading at night in bed.

I’ve started reading The Artist’s Way, and it is more a recipe for action. I need to start setting sometime aside for the prescribed actions, but with the motorcycle mishap, my sleep is messed up too. Getting up of a morning in time to do before getting ready and out is the hardest part for me. I’m not a morning person.

