New motorcycle wrinkle

This afternoon, DH had a blowout on the motorcycle on his way after dropping me off at the car dealership. He was on a fairly wide shouldered road that is not highly traveled, thank goodness. The pusher tire blew out at about 50 mph. He got the bike back under control, slowed down, and then pulled off to the side of the road. He called me to let me know, and I came over to where he was on the side of the road.

He had just gotten the motorcycle back from the body shop. They finished up repairing the side car today and it wasn’t as bad as it could have been. But in the course of all the bike’s trips to the different shops, they tightened up the pinch bolt holding the axle on the rear tire, he thinks with an impact wrench. And he wasn’t able to get it loosened up with his little wrenches in his repair kit. It wasn’t until another biker stopped with a repair kit that had slightly longer wrenches that he could get the leverage to break the pinch bolt on the tire. It was over 100F this afternoon when he was out fighting the tire. I’m just glad that he was ok.

As for me, my car just needed the regular service, tires and brakes checked, oil changed, and belts and hoses checked. Unfortunately, we found tonight that the low beam of my driver’s headlight is out now, after the service. grumble, grumble, grumble. You’d think that they would check the headlights when they had the car in for service, too.

2 thoughts on “New motorcycle wrinkle

  1. DH is an experienced motorcyclist. And the bike with the sidecar has 3 wheels, so unless it is in an uphill or downhill turn it is going to be more stable than your standard motorcycle. But yeah, I didn’t think about how scary that was until after I knew how he gotten control of the bike, after having it swerve around across several lanes. eep.

Comments are closed.