Taking on a challenge

RIP II Challenge A reading challenge, that is. I found out about it thanks to Stefanie at So Many Books. Carl at the Stainless Steel Droppings Blog issued his second RIP (Readers Imbibing Peril) challenge. One must read 4 scary genre books, or 2 humongous books, or 2 large and one small scary, or just one book that fits the other guidelines. This is for the time frame Sept 1 – Oct 31, 2007. I’m out of scary books here at the house, and will have to adjourn to the library or bookstore. Oh shucks, whatever will I do?

I need to see if I can find another Jonathan Carroll locally. I’ve already read Sleeping in Flame. It was a trip. Does Dan Simmons have anything else out now? I just read Ilium and Olympos. What Gaiman can I get into? Carl suggests Coraline or Fragile Things. Hmmnnn. Decisions, decisions. Do you have any suggestions for books for this challenge?

10 thoughts on “Taking on a challenge

  1. Have you read any Gaiman? Eventhough Fragile Things has more ‘scary’ stories in it, I would suggest reading Smoke and Mirrors if you haven’t read any Gaiman. Coraline and F.T. are great as well.

  2. Pingback: Stainless Steel Droppings » Something R.I.P.ing This Way Comes

  3. I HIGHLY recommend American Gods by Neil Gaiman…it’s my favorite of his, though really anything of his would fit perfectly. Coraline is a perfect book as well and I haven’t read Fragile Things, but will be reading it for this challenge!

  4. Coraline would be a great Gaiman choice for the challenge. I’m reading M is for Magic for my Gaiman fix.

    Jonathan Carroll is awesome. Have you read Land of Laughs? That would be a perfect challenge choice.

    Look forward to seeing what you decide to read!

  5. Dan Simmons has The Terror out. It’s pretty recent, last year I think and supposed to be scary. Have your read Gaiman’a American Gods? Very atmospheric

  6. Carl, thank you for the Gaiman recommendations. I’ve read Neverwhere and Anansi Boys, but not anything else. Oh yeah, I take that back, I’ve read the Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman collaboration Good Omens. I’ll look to see what I can find, either Fragile Things, Smoke and Mirrors, American Gods, or Coraline.

    Maureen, thank you so much for the link to Jonathan Carroll’s website. I’ll have to check the website and his blog out!

    Chris, isn’t Anansi Boys a sequel of sorts to American Gods? It figures that I’d read the sequel before the first book.

    Quixotic, it sounds like there is a wealth of Gaiman available that would fit into this challenge. I originally heard of Jonathan Carroll from J. Michael Straczynski, of Babylon 5. He also recommended Wallace and Grommit, and now we’re confirmed W&G fans here. At any rate, I’d like to read more Jonathan Carroll, so I’ll be on the lookout for Land of Laughs.

    Stefanie, I’m a bad bibliophile here. I don’t follow whats published very closely. I should, but there are days (months) when life gets in the way. I started on Dan Simmons with Hyperion/Fall of Hyperion, and then went out and picked up as many of his books as I could. His writing can definitely fall in to this challenge. Song of Kali is pretty scary, and Carrion Comfort is very scary and unnerving.

    I just looked up the synopsis of The Terror on Amazon, and it will be great. I’d recently seen on one of the science/history channels (Discovery I think, but I’m not sure) a story about failed expeditions to Artic regions, and another blogger had linked to documents about a failed expedition to claim the Aleutian islands that only one Inuit girl who was the cook/seamstress survived. It was fascinating to read about, and the synchronicity of the appearances of expeditions from different sources appealed to my sense of the odd.

    Thanks everyone! I’m closing in on what I think I’m going to read.

  7. Ohh, I am also a Babylon 5 fan. I didn’t know J. Michael Straczynski was a fan of Jonathan Carroll. I’ve only read one of his books. I really need to read more sometime. Like others have said, I think Coraline would be a great choice for this challenge. It’s a great story, and it has the advantage of being a very fast read, thus allowing you to fit in more books 😉

  8. Nymeth, thanks for the additional encouragement for Coraline. And a fast read is always welcome. There’s always time for more books!

    And hooray, another B5 fan! JMS was very active on usenet once upon a time ago. So when I frequented the B5 groups, it was cool to see him respond to comments and give hints on upcoming episodes. At any rate, our cats are named for different characters. The kitty who is my icon is Delenn. She’s grey cat, so it seemed appropriate. 🙂 The middle cat is Ivanova. When DH brought her home, she stood up for herself and took no guff from Delenn. The third cat is Marcus. He’s a fuzzy lump of love that will also stand up and swat the others for lap time. We tried to make sure their names match their personalities.

  9. Anansi Boys is somewhat of a sequel to American Gods, but not really :p Anansi appears as one of the gods in American Gods…Anansi Boys had a much more humorous tone than American Gods did. American Gods is much darker and dramatic, a very different change of pace from Anansi Boys, but wonderfully and beautifully written!

Comments are closed.