What to read for RIP Challenge

So I’m taking part in this challenge, yasee? And I really am not sure what I’m going to read. Thanks to everyone who commented on my previous post. Life is galloping along at a breakneck pace, and probably will continue to do so until after Halloween. So I figure that I probably could have the last Harry Potter book as one of my books, since I’m about 220 pages in and don’t anticipate being able to finish it until Labor Day, at least.

I’m considering using Neal Stephenson’s Cryptonomicon, simply because of its size. About 2 years ago I’d gotten about halfway through it, then set it down for some reason and never picked it back up. More for the size of the book then any other reason. At 928 pages, its fairly daunting.

But then the recommendations for Neil Gaiman have been nearly unanimous. I’ve liked what I’ve read by him, so I am going to look for one of his books. Its probably going to depend on what I can check out of the library, but American Gods or Fragile Things look like good possibilities.

Jonathan Carroll’s
Land of Laughs is available at the library here. Yay! I think that is definitely going to be one of my books for this challenge.

And one that has been recommended elsewhere, but not mentioned in Carl’s blog is Max Brooks World War Z. After participating briefly in the BLITEOTW challenge, I feel like its required to have a zombie entry. 😉

Another good possibility is Dan Simmon’s The Terror. It looks to be just right for this challenge.

All of these books are ones that I’ve not read or finished. I probably will look at re-reading Bram Stoker’s Dracula, possibly Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot or the Shining, Children of Night by Dan Simmons. They’ll be fun for the season too.

3 thoughts on “What to read for RIP Challenge

  1. Land of Laughs is an excellent choice for the challenge, as are American Gods and/or Fragile Things. I’m also re-reading Dracula for the challenge, which I am thoroughly looking forward to. For my King fix, I’ll be reading Lisey’s Story which has been sitting on my shelf unread since I bought it…

  2. Quixotic, I may try to pick up Cell by King at the library, too. I haven’t looked at Lisey’s Story yet. I need to change that, and maybe add it to the list. Decisions, decisions! Ive got DuMaurier’s Rebecca that I started, got the heebie jeebies a quarter of the way through and then never finished. It would definitely be an addition to this challenge, and fit more closely to the gothic theme than Cell.

  3. Pingback: RIP II challenge update « random musings on life, the universe and everything

Comments are closed.