Finally finished Harry Potter

Whew. Its done. I finally finished it. I knew once I started to get back into the book, I’d want to keep going. And I did. This story is not just a kids story.

I’ll discuss it under this cut. Warning, there are spoilers! Now here’s hoping that I’ve set it up correctly.

Oh wow. Shades of WWII and Stalin. Half bloods and mudbloods imprisoned and tortured for sport. Family taken for the express purposes of influencing people. Pretty dark for a kids book. But then, its been moving in this direction for a while. Albus Dumbledore as a very grey figure, not the complete white hat that he was the books prior to Half Blood Prince.

For a while I was thinking that the Deathly Hallows were a red herring, like the half blood prince.

And I was pleased to see that I had figured correctly that Dumbledore had asked Snape to kill him if need be. As well as thinking that Harry was the last Horcrux. I was pleased to see that Snape was able to redeem himself in Harry’s eyes. He was truly the one in the tightest place of them all.

But the theme of choice of action is integral to the story. Who you are isn’t as important as what you chose to do. You need to think about where your actions lead. You can’t see everything and every eventuality, but you try to be smart about what you do. If you’ve messed up, you work to set it right.

So I need to let it settle a little bit. Then I’ll probably add a bit more to this post.

2 thoughts on “Finally finished Harry Potter

  1. I was very disappointed with the epilog and the lack of more information there. For instance, who is the headmaster of Hogwarts. I read several interviews to get more info, but haven’t been able to find out much. Other than the Epilog, such a good read. Kept me on the edge of my seat and I didn’t want to put it down.

  2. The epilogue was a bit anti-climatic. It seemed like the climax of the book hit, then there was very little wrap up. It seemed like the other books, with the structure of the school year had the ability to wrap things up and not just end. The epilogue was ok, but not particularly illuminating.

Comments are closed.