Books read for the trip

I only finished up one book of my previous purchases on my round robin trip last week. It was Robert Rankin’s Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse. As promised by the title, it was a bit surreal. Nursery rhyme characters and toys are alive. Vehicles and other items are run with windup clockwork mechanisms. But it isn’t always a nice place, living in Toy City. Murders happen, and they have to be solved. There are winks and nods made in the direction of the audience. I was amused by the book. The story was strong enough to get my attention. I will admit I was ready to read a book that wasn’t serious or particularly scary while I was traveling after the funeral and on to other events.

I did start the next of my RIP II challenge books, the first of the Colleen Gleason Gardella Vampire Chronicles, The Rest Falls Away. I’m about a third to half way through it. I’m not a romance reader, so the romance tropes are annoying me. Its set as a regency romance, so the Buffy the Vampire Slayer attitude is a jarring anachronism at times to my reading. I’m hoping that the book will drop some of those affectations along the way. I’m going to finish the book, but picking it back up it not as attractive as some picking up some other books.

8 thoughts on “Books read for the trip

  1. Hmm…. I was thinking I needed to read Colleen Gleason’s books as everyone else in the world has… but like you, I don’t read romance…. so now I’m a little bit wary of going out and buying it. Perhaps I’ll have to see if the library has it – that way if I don’t like it, it’s not sitting around on my bookshelves taunting me. 😉

  2. Eva, I’m just not a romance reader. I read 4 or 5 harlequin romances in college, realized that I had read every single plot for them, and said that was enough for me. 🙂 So the romance stuff in the books is not my thing. Carl recommended them, so I’m hoping that they pick up in a way I like. Because, of course, it all revolves around me, right? 😉 I’m glad your not feeling so isolated now.

    Courtney, check them out of the library. I had read a number of the reviews on Amazon for The Rest Falls Away, and they were mixed. I have enough books at my house that another one sitting on a bookshelf is just a part of the pile. 🙂 I’ve started re-reading Dracula. So I will get my vampire fix in one way or the other.

  3. Nicola, that’s great. After I finish with Dracula, I’m going to pick The Rest Falls Away back up. I just may not have been in the best frame of mind to start it while leaving for a funeral. What did you enjoy about the Gardella books?

  4. Pingback: I finished The Rest Falls Away « random musings on life, the universe and everything

Comments are closed.