Went out tonight

to a beer tasting at the local science museum, the McWane Center. It was called the Science of Beer and had a number of micro-brews available to taste, along with hors d’oeuvres. Now DH is a beer snob. He lived in Germany for several years, so he does have an excuse. They even had a number of beers that I liked. I’m not fan of your traditional american lager. I never developed a taste for it. I prefer ciders or wines to beer. The malt and hops are just not my thing. But I tried several fruit lambics that were really nice. And one specialty beer made with strawberries and balsamic vinegar that was very good.

The folks who run the store for home brewers, AlaBrew, were there with several displays of equipment and flavorings for your own brews. DH brews his own beer, and occasionally makes me a batch of wine or cider. I think I’ve finally finished the last batch of raspberry zinfandel that he made 4 or 5 years ago. The wines he makes are good. The folks who drink his beer think its good too. I’m not the person to ask about that. 😉 It was a nice night, and the response was much more than the folks at the McWane Center expected.

