My uncle made it through surgery.

And that’s a blessing. He is still very ill, and has a very long recovery and rehab ahead. The staph infection is still there. There is damage from the stroke to evaluate. But the physical therapist at the hospital saw him before the surgery, and had encouraging things to say about his prognosis for recovery.

Next time I go to the doctor’s office, I need to see about letting him know about the incidences of serious artery blockage that have occurred in Mom’s side of the family. At 40, I don’t think I need to seriously worry about it yet, but I do need to make sure that it goes into consideration for the future. After 3 of my aunts and uncles on Mom’s side have had major blockages in their arteries that required surgery, I have to keep an eye on possible carotid artery disease.

