Packing for the trip

I’ve been researching packing for this trip to the KSC. I’m flying down to Florida for it. I fly occasionally, but is isn’t something I do all the time. Normally when I go to events I take a car. Of course, most of the events I attend are within reasonable driving distance to, so that isn’t a problem.

Ive been doing a bit of research, and found a wonderful site on traveling more lightly, One Bag. Or more importantly traveling with just one carry on bag. One of the ways to do that is to use a strict packing list and not take more than that list. Now I’m starting to work on a packing list for this trip. Since I’m there to tweet up, I need to take appropriate electronics and support for twitter tools. 🙂 So netbook, power cord, cell phone and charger. Camera(s) and batteries. Then I’ll need medications with prescription id, and toiletries, as well as contact solution and extra contacts. At the end I’ll worry about clothes.

I’ll need to weigh the resulting luggage. But I won’t come close to my fellow tweet up attendee, Raam Dev. He travels around the world with only one small bag! He will be the first to tell you that this style of travel is not for everyone. I don’t think I would prefer traveling quite that lightly, but he is a someone that enjoys what he’s doing. Talk about traveling lightly!

Decisions, decisions! I’m still floating about this tweetup opportunity. There’s plenty left to do for this, so I’m still working out the details. And then the timing could completely change too. So the details will be up in the air for a while. But it doesn’t matter, its going to happen! Whee!

5 thoughts on “Packing for the trip

  1. That One Bag site is awesome! I wish I had known about it six months ago when I was packing my one bag. 🙂

    Thank you for linking to my site. I look forward to meeting you in person at my first Tweetup, my first Shuttle Launch, and my first trip to KSC! (Still having a hard time believing I won the ticket!)

    • Isn’t that site wonderful? I’m glad to have found it, and hope passing it along will help some others out too. And OMG! I can’t wait for the tweetup! It’ll be my first launch to see in person, as well as my first visit to KSC too! I keep waiting for the email saying, “Psych, no you aren’t going, its all a mistake.”

  2. I’m so excited for you, but man… I don’t think I could pack lighter. Eric makes fun of how much I bring to places, but I can’t see how to cut down!

    • Its going to be very entertaining. I think I’ll lay everything out once I get it ready to go so I can see it and get a picture of it all. We’ll see how well I do. I don’t plan on spending much time in the room, but I’m sharing it with 3 other women, so that is also a factor too. 🙂

Comments are closed.