Not quite the day either one of us intended

Well, it was an interesting Saturday. DH and I slept in until 8 am and I went out to Pepper Place to go do some veggie shopping like I usually do. Since it was such a nice day I took the the scooter. The day was already warm by 8:30 and I had picked up everything and was headed home. Then DH called me. He had slipped and fallen, and possibly cracked a rib. But he was ok, and didn’t want me to worry. Yikes!

I proceeded on my way home as quickly and prudently as possible.
While I didn’t think he was in imminent danger, I was concerned with how he was doing. After I got in and was able to check on him, I found he was pretty accurate in his description to me, thankfully. But he was hurting a whole lot. Moving and taking deep breaths were causing him pain.

He had an appointment this morning, and he wouldn’t get checked out to see if had hurt himself wore than he initially thought. So I refused to let him go elsewhere without me along.

After the appointment, which ran late, we drove over to the Irondale Cafe to have lunch. We hadn’t been there before, so it was good to try a new place. There is also a book store by the cafe, so we stopped in there too for a bit.

After lunch, we attempted to get another errand run, but the timing of it didn’t quite work out right. by that time DH had been hurting enough that he was willing to go to an urgent care facility to be seen by a doctor. We went, and they took xrays to make sure nothing was too messed up. Unfortunately the xray were inconclusive about his ribs. But nothing is too messed up. Better safe than sorry.

But the day was nothing like either one of us had though it would go.

3 thoughts on “Not quite the day either one of us intended

  1. Pingback: Ride for Kids Birmingham 2010 « random musings on life, the universe and everything

Comments are closed.